Talquin Electric Cooperative logo

myTalquin mobile app and web portal will be unavailable due to scheduled maintenance from 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM, Saturday April 20th.   Read More

Talquin Electric Cooperative Awards $9,500 in Scholarships to Local Students


Talquin Electric Cooperative Awards $9,500 in Scholarships to Local Students

| News

QUINCY, FloridaFebruary 21, 2024 – Talquin Electric Cooperative, Inc. (“Talquin”), a Member-owned, not-for-profit electric cooperative, selected thirteen high school juniors from Gadsden, Liberty, Leon, and Wakulla Counties to participate in the Talquin Youth Tour February 7th through 8th.

“I want to extend a heartfelt congratulations to each student selected to participate in the Talquin Youth Tour,” said Tracy Bensley, General Manager of Talquin. “This year’s selection of students exemplifies the exceptional qualities and potential of our local emerging leaders. Talquin commends their commitment to this experience and looks forward to witnessing the positive impact they will make in their own communities.”

The two-day Youth Tour included a visit to Florida State University, where students had the opportunity to tour the campus and engage with college admissions representatives. The highlight of the tour was a visit to the state capitol on Thursday, where the students had the opportunity to participate in a “mock” House and Senate session and learn about Florida’s legislative process.

Out of the thirteen outstanding participants, four student delegates and two alternates were selected to represent Talquin Electric Cooperative at the National Rural Electric Association’s Youth Tour in Washington D.C. in June and will receive a $1,000 scholarship for college or post-secondary education. These students will serve as delegates, showcasing their leadership and community involvement on a national stage. The national delegates are Juliette Shuler, Liberty County High School; Caroline Fraser, Lincoln High School; Vanessa Foreman and Ella Wren Moody, Wakulla High School. The alternates are Lenna Gayhart, Leon High School; and Addison Green, Lincoln High School.

The students who will receive a $500 scholarship for representing their schools at the Talquin Youth Tour in Tallahassee are Zorianna Starks, Gadsden County High School; Kaitlyn Lackey, Lawton Chiles High School; Madelynn Grace Richter, Liberty County High School; Harley Edenfield, North Florida Christian School; Claire McCormick, St. John Paul II Catholic School; Avary Duggar, Wakulla Christian School; and Amyah Wilkins, Wakulla High School.


Pictured above, left to right; Front row: Vanessa Foreman, Harley Edenfield; Second row: Amyah Wilkins, Madelynn Grace Richter, Kaitlyn Lackey, Lenna Gayhart; Third row: Addison Green, Ella Wren Moody, Avary Duggar, Juliette Shuler, Zorianna Starks, Caroline Fraser, Claire McCormick.