Talquin Youth

Talquin Youth

Youth Tour

The Youth Tour, sponsored by the Florida Electric Cooperatives and Talquin Electric, is an event that gets better every year. Bright, talented high school juniors from all over the state descend upon Florida’s capital in February and prove that the leaders of tomorrow are nothing short of spectacular!

Twenty-four of these rising young leaders from Gadsden, Leon, Liberty, and Wakulla Counties are selected each year to participate in the Talquin Electric Youth Tour. They are selected based on scores for academics, leadership, public speaking skills, and volunteer service in their schools and communities.

Four students are then selected from this elite group to represent Talquin at the NRECA National Youth Tour in Washington, D.C. in June.

These delegates travel to Washington D.C. where they join about 2,000 students from all over the United States. They learn about the unique cooperative business model and our democratic government while visiting historic landmarks during the tour.

Students must have a close relative who is a Talquin Member in order to apply and be considered. Students must also be a high school junior in the Talquin service area.

Visit NRECA for more information or contact Talquin at 850-627-7651 or Email.


Youth Leadership Council (YLC)

Each July, the cooperative community’s brightest youth representatives gather in Washington, DC for the annual Youth Leadership Conference. Each youth is chosen to represent his or her state on the Youth Leadership Council (YLC) by his or her state delegation during the NRECA Youth Tour in Washington, D.C.

The purpose of the YLC conference is to build leadership and public speaking skills and to enhance the delegates’ knowledge of the energy industry and the cooperative form of business. These students will also make presentations at their statewide and local cooperative annual meetings.

In prior years, Talquin has been represented on the NRECA YLC by the following students:

  • Ninetta Violante: Maclay
  • Tolu Olorunnipa: Florida High
  • Brennen Webb: Robert F. Munroe
  • Steven Roberts: Chiles High
  • Chelsea Watson: Maclay
  • LaCrai Mitchell: Amos P. Godby High School
  • EC Presnell: St. John Paul II Catholic High School
  • Molly Jones: Wakulla High School